Migrating away from Firebase, to Netlify and Supabase

Christopher Coffee
4 min readApr 25, 2023
Latest Keith Lee app updates

In my previous article, I showed you how to create a Keith Lee food app using ReactJS, ChatGPT, and Firebase.

However, as time passed, I found that Supabase for the backend and Netlify for hosting are more cost-efficient solutions.

Supabase is also open-source; you don’t have to deal with vendor lock-in as you would with Firebase. This means I can migrate to any hosting provider freely if I want to.

You also don’t have to host and maintain the entire Supabase project. You can connect to any database as a service platform.

Latest Keith Lee app updates

As you can tell from the screenshot, I have added more features, such as authentication, saving places, a new UI, filters, a guided tour, and a new “profile” page for each place.

Due to the complexity of the new features, I have also utilized redux-toolkit. I will write separate articles on my approaches to implementing these new features.

I also have created native iOS and Android apps using SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose. I will go over their implementation in the future as well.

Setting Up Supabase

--

--